Extensive writings translated into numerous books by a diligent lady!

Let My Praises Be Heard!


EXTENSIVE WRITINGS TRANSLATED INTO NUMEROUS BOOKS BY A DILIGENT LADY!

Of course, following my retirement from the pastorate, I was no longer involved in the exacting ‘practice’ of sermon preparation (which involved so much of my time for about 25 years). I believe that, a few months after I left my church, God initiated an idea in my mind, namely, to found a new non-profit organization, the main purpose to be to distribute Christian literature (primarily, the Christian literature that I myself had written over a long period of time). I had been actively writing ever since I became a pastor, when I was still in my early 20’s.

A friend of mine (a dedicated Christian lady) had taken a special interest in my writings, and, as a result, many of my sermons had been bound together, to form devotional books. I envisioned this newly-formed organization (called ‘Christian Living Ministries’) to be the ‘vehicle’ for the distribution of my several books.

A Christian lawyer did all the legal work, and soon this new (small) organization was in ‘operation’. I asked three different men (including the lawyer) to compose the ‘board’ for ‘Christian Living Ministries’, and, as a result of my appeal for ‘supporting donors’, I received positive response from a ‘handful’ of ‘glad financial supporters’.

During the next 15 years (during which time this small organization existed), l distributed- free of cost to everyone – several hundreds of my books, to friends and family members and fellow pastors and associates! Several of these recipients sent me ‘notes of appreciation’ for my books. I trust that, in some way, God was able to use these carefully written books (my sermons and other writings), for the benefit of spiritual growth and personal inspiration.

After I left the pastorate, in 1994 (nearly 20 years ago, at the time of this writing), I found myself involved in additional writing, beyond the writing of sermons which I did during my time when I was active in the pastorate. In fact, to date (2013), I presently have several dozen books and booklets (that I have either authored or compiled) available for anyone who wishes to enjoy them, and most of these books and booklets are presently available (for viewing or for downloading) on my Web site (CLMBOOKS.ORG).

None of these books and booklets (freely available) would be available, without the unusual dedication of an unusual lady, Shirley Ruiz. This lady, many years ago, volunteered (without any pay) to type all my material, to design the pages very attractively, and to neatly present all these pages (perhaps 10,000 pages!!) to the printer for ‘production’.

Words, of course, are inadequate to express my appreciation to Shirley Ruiz, for her ‘labors of love’ and her untiring dedication to my ‘writing projects’. Obviously (as I have told her several times), the widespread distribution of these many books (including the distribution on the Web), would never have been possible without her faithful and persistent dedication, during the last 30 years. if it were not for her, my writings (as helpful as they might be) would be ‘gathering dust’ in some ‘box’ somewhere in my ‘garage’!

I owe whatever ‘success’ I have had, in the distribution of the ‘Good News’ of Jesus, through the medium of ‘Christian Books’, entirely to this godly and gracious and tenacious lady! She has tirelessly and faithfully and most cheerfully performed this ‘service’ of ‘transferring’ my (sometimes) almost illegible writing, into a beautiful document (that wall become a handsome- looking book)!

During the 30 years that I have worked, so ‘comfortably’ with her, she had not manifested any spirit, other than the ‘spirit of enthusiasm’ and ‘gladness’ and ‘excitement’. She has offered many ‘good suggestions’ regarding ‘format’ and ‘design’ and ‘approach to better appeal in terms of layout’, and those suggestions (most times) are ‘excellent’ and readily accepted by me!

During the last several years, Shirley has received some monthly financial compensation for her faithful work. However, it is not likely that I will ever be able to ‘repay her’ (financially or otherwise) for her unusual devotion to this work. I have thanked her on many occasions for her loving devotion to God and for her faithful partnership with me.

She has never been calculating in the work that she does for me. In fact, she has asked for more and more work (typing and designing) to do. When she has completed the typing (designing) of one book, she asks for another book to type! It seems that she cannot get enough work to do! The volume of work that she has done (the thousands of pages she has typed) is mind-boggling! The spirit of enthusiasm and zeal that she manifests in this work is most amazing and most rare!

When I think that I have given this lady (who just had her 80th birthday) ‘too much work’, she actually requests that I give her more ‘books to type’! She has told me, many times, that this work that she does, gives her a lot of ‘Joy’, that the material that she types ‘blesses her’ and gives her ‘insights’! certainly, without ‘question’, this lady is ‘one in a million’. I have never worked with anyone who has been more faithful ‘in the Lord’s work’, than this lady.

She has been an example and an inspiration to me- her joyful spirit, her persistence in labor (about 30 years in this ‘work’ of helping to produce many books), her cooperative ‘spirit’ of ‘teamwork’, and, most importantly, her deep love for her Master (for whom she has primarily work, all of these decades). I have told her (several times): ‘Shirley, I thank you for what you have done for me, for so very long, but I know that you are really working for your Savior, whom you love so very much.’

“Shirley, I am in great ‘debt’ to you, and I know that many other persons are in ‘debt’ to you! I know that many persons on this earth are being blessed through these books, and all because of your labors of love. I know that you will have to wait until you get to heaven, before you will get your ‘true reward’ for everything you have done on earth. I know that you are primarily working of course, for Christ, and only secondarily for me. I can’t imagine how you could type (10,000 pages approximately), but God has given you unusual hands and fingers! I am amazed by your talents and especially by your remarkable spirit! Thank you!

Thank you Shirley!”

The ministry, just briefly described began in April 1995, just a few weeks before Venita received her ‘open door’ communication regarding the founding of her elderly care businesses. A few months, after I believed that God wanted me to form a new non-profit organization (Christian Living Ministries), I had another ‘moving of the Spirit’!

I sensed that I should be involved in a further ‘trust’ in getting the Word of God distributed in my community. This new (informal) endeavor could be seen as a further extension of the ministry of ‘Christian Living Ministries’ (a literature distribution ministry).


Table of contents: Let my praises be heard!


Leave a comment